Individual Psychology according to Alfred Adler 

“A person is not evil by nature. Even when a person may be guilty of serious misconduct, seduced by his mistaken view of life, he does not need to be oppressed; he can change himself. He is free to be happy and to please others.” Alfred Adler

Believing in the goodness of a person and “seeing him with the eyes of another, hearing him with the ears of another and feeling him with the heart of another,” was an essential value for the Austrian doctor and psychotherapist, Alfred Adler (1870-1937).
The inventor of Depth Psychology and former student of Sigmund Freud founded a new theroy of psychology in 1911: Individual Psychology, the influences of which are traced back to Social Medicine, Psychoanalysis and the study of Neurosis. With it, Adler distanced himself from the teaching of Freud. Instead of questioning the reasons for human actions, Adler first questioned the aim and purpose of these actions.

People as holistic beings- socially orientated and homogeonous

The key distinguishing charactaristics of other psychological theories, especially Freud’s, are as follows:

  • Goal Orientation (every person orientates themselves around goals which have existed since childhood),
  • Holistic (the person is considered as a unit of body, mind and soul, as well as a part of a social community),
    and
  • Homogeneity (every person plays an equal role in the commuity).

According to the concept of Depth Psychology, a person is not an instrinsic and isolated being, but an active, creative component of a social community, whose actions, feelings and thoughts are always a result of experiences and early encounters with other people. 

Individual Psychological consultation and therapy

Individual Psychological therapy is applicable to nearly all psychological disorders in patients of every age group. Through several sessions with the psychotherapist, a subconcious way of coping is established and the contexts of the pathological way of thinking come to light.
In addition to the form of the pyschotherapy, Individual Psychology, because of its holistic and strength orientated approach, is also used as life counselling for mental illness or stressful life situations.

Die Individualpsychologie nach Alfred Adler

„Der Mensch ist von Natur aus nicht böse. Was auch ein Mensch an Verfehlungen begangen haben mag, verführt durch seine irrtümliche Meinung vom Leben, es braucht ihn nicht zu bedrücken; er kann sich ändern. Er ist frei, glücklich zu sein und andere zu erfreuen.“
Alfred Adler

An das Gute im Menschen glauben und ihn „mit den Augen eines anderen sehen, mit den Ohren eines anderen hören, mit dem Herzen eines anderen fühlen“ waren für den österreichischen Mediziner und Psychotherapeuten Alfred Adler (1870-1937) unverzichtbare Werte.

Der Erfinder der Tiefenpsychologie und einstige Schüler Sigmund Freuds gründete im Jahr 1911 eine neue Theorie der Psychologie: die Individualpsychologie, deren Einflüsse auf die Sozialmedizin, Psychoanalyse und Neurosenlehre zurückgehen. Mit ihr grenzte sich Adler entschieden von den Lehren Freuds ab. Statt nach dem Grund des menschlichen Handelns fragte Adler erstmals nach dessen Ziel und Zweck.

Der Mensch als ganzheitliches Wesen – sozial orientiert und gleichwertig

Die zentralen Unterscheidungsmerkmale zu anderen psychologischen Theorien, insbesondere zu Freuds Psychoanalyse lauten:

  • Zielgerichtetheit (jeder Mensch orientiert sich nach persönlichen Zielen, die schon seit der Kindheit bestehen),
  • Ganzheitlichkeit (der Mensch wird als eine Einheit aus Körper, Seele und Geist betrachtet sowie als Teil einer sozialen Gemeinschaft) und
  • Gleichwertigkeit (jeder Mensch spielt eine gleichwertige Rolle innerhalb der Gesellschaft).

Der Mensch ist nach der Auffassung der Tiefenpsychologie kein triebgesteuertes und isoliertes Wesen, sondern ein aktiver, schöpferischer Bestandteil einer sozialen Gemeinschaft, dessen Handeln, Fühlen und Denken immer das Ergebnis von Erfahrungen früherer Begegnungen mit Mitmenschen ist.

Individualpsychologische Beratung und Therapie

Die individualpsychologische Therapie ist bei nahezu allen psychischen Störungen bei Patienten in jeder Altersgruppe anwendbar. In mehreren Sitzungen mit dem Psychotherapeuten soll eine nicht bewusste Lebensleitlinie ermittelt werden und die Zusammenhänge krankhafter Denkweisen zum Vorschein kommen.
Neben der Form der Psychotherapie wird die Individualpsychologie wegen ihres ganzheitlichen, stärkenorientierten und motivierenden Ansatzes auch als seelsorgerliche Lebensberatung bei seelischen Erkrankungen oder belastenden Lebenssituationen eingesetzt.